In the crowd

Photographing in crowds of people has never been my strongest point. Even though you can be pretty much unnoticeable and take shots of everything and anything, I still feel kind of too distracted by whatever is going on around me. Things are moving so fast, faces pass by in instants, noise, busy backgrounds.

X70-15.jpg

You really need to be on top of your game to come away with something… Take a breath, get in the zone and keep your eyes peeled. Interesting things will happen, you just need to be ready and available.

X70-12.jpg

On this sunny day I was out of my comfort zone and shooting among hundreds of people who gathered for the opening of a new big clothing shop. The queue of people stretched some 200 metres.

X70-11.jpg

Graffiti artist, DJ and the Mayor of Montpellier were all present at the opening.

X70-14.jpg

I didn’t stay long, maybe 40, 45 minutes. Shot around 30 images, picked these above as passable.

Thank you for checking this out!

7 thoughts on “In the crowd

  1. actually this is my strong part – to shoot in masses ! 🙂
    once when i called myself street photographer and shooted streets of TelAviv and Jerusalem every single weekend, i got usual and fast and today i use the same “street” technique when i shoot here and there during interesting events by request or just for my docu archive 🙂

  2. You hear the shutter click because you are listening for it. But in the city no-one hears a noisy shutter if they are not expecting to hear it. On the other hand a pretty camera is noticed. That’s my experience. I watched a guy the other day with a Leica M9 in the market doing the “pro-stance” over a puddle. I heard the shutter from over 5 metres away.

    • Yes i realise that i was aware of a noisy shutter. You’re right, in crowds nobody’s going to notice you however in other situations, i’d much prefer the silent shutter 🙂

Leave a Reply

